PM distributes Ekushey Padak-2016

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Saturday handed over Ekushey Padak-2016 to 16 eminent personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

The Padak distribution ceremony was held at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the city.

The recipients are: Justice Kazi Ebadul Haque, Dr Syed Haider, late Syed Golam Kibria (posthumous), Dr Jasim Uddin Ahmed for their contributions to the Language Movement; Begum Jahanara Ahmed (Arts– Television and Film); Pandit Amaresh Roy Chowdhury (Arts– Classical Music); Begum Shaheen Samad (Arts–Music); Amanul Haque (Arts–Dance); late Kazi Anwar Hossain (Arts–Painting) (posthumous); Mafidul Haque for contributions to the Liberation War and Toab Khan in Journalism.

The recipients also include Prof Dr ABM Abdullah in research, Mongsen Ching Monsin (research), Joityprakash Dutt (language and literature), Prof Dr Hayat Mahmud (language and literature) and Habibullah Siraji (language and literature).

The Ekushey Padak carries a gold medal, a citation and a cheque of Tk two lakh each.

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam conducted the function and read out the citations of the awardees at the function held with Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor in the chair.