Bishwajit murder case: HC reading out verdict

The High Court today started delivering the verdict on death reference and appeals of the sensational Bishwajit murder case.

The bench of Justice Md Ruhul Quddus and Justice Bhishmadev Chakrabortty began delivering verdict at 10:50am.

The judges are expected to finish announcement of the verdict later in the day.


In the morning of December 9, 2012, a number of cocktails exploded in front of Bahadur Shah Park as the opposition 18-party alliance enforced a road blockade programme.

This December 9, 2012 photo shows activists of Bangladesh Chhatra League beating up tailor Bishwajit Das during a road blockade programme of the BNP-led 18-party alliance. Photo: STAR

Hearing the sounds, BCL men of Jagannath University unit rushed to the spot wielding sticks and chased some people suspecting them to be pickets.

READ MORE: A murder: who will explain?

At one stage, they caught Bishwajit Das, 24, proprietor of Amantron Tailors in Shakharibazar area in Sutrapur, who was passing through the area.

The BCL men stabbed and gave him a good beating.

Bishwajit was rushed to Mitford Hospital in critical condition where he died later.

Family members claimed that Bishwajit was not involved with any political party.


The trial of the case began on July 2013.

On December 18, 2013, Judge ABM Nizamul Haque of the Speedy Trial Tribunal-4 sentenced eight BCL activists to death and 13 others to life in prison.

Of the eight, two are on the run while the rest are behind bars. Only two of those given life sentences are in jail now.


Eight condemned are Rafiqul Islam Shakil, Mahfuzur Rahman Nahid, Emdadul Haque Emdad, GM Rasheduzzaman Shaon, Md Saiful Islam, Qayum Mia Tipu, Rajon Talukdar and Noor-e-Alam Limon.

READ MORE: Of The Murderers

Of them, Rajon and Limon are on the run.

Convicts sentenced to life in prison are AHM Kibria, Saiful Islam Saiful, Golam Mustafa, Alauddin, Obaidul Quader Tahsin, Imran Hossain, Khandaker Md Yunus Ali, Tarique Bin Zohur, Azizur Rahman, Al Amin Sheikh, Monirul Haque Pavel, Mosharraf Hossain and Kamrul Hasan.

Of them, only Kibria and Mustafa are in jail.