Shakib back, major changes in T20 squad

Online Report

Bangladesh have announced the squad for the first T20 encounter against Sri Lanka which is to be played at Dhaka on February 15.

Shakib Al Hasan, who missed out on the Test series due to an injury, has been included in the squad. Soumya Sarkar has been called back into the Tigers’ squad for the T20 match while all-rounder Mahedi Hasan, who featured for Comilla Victorian in last year’s BPL, has also made the squad.

Bangladesh U19 vice-captain Afif Hossain has also been included in the 15-man squad.

Meanwhile, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Nasir Hossain, Mehedi Miraz, Shafiul Islam, and pacer Taskin Ahmed, who all featured during the T20 series in South Africa, failed to make the squad. Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan and Afif are all first time members in a Tigers’ squad.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarker, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shabbir Rahaman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Md Saifuddin Ahmed, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain