Publishers’ body elects new leaders

Bangladesh Gyan O Srijonshil Prokashok Samity, an association of publishers of knowledge-based and creative books, elected its new committee recently.

Farid Ahmed, owner of Somoy Prokashoni has taken charge as the chairman of the new committee, while the executive director’s post has gone to Monirul Haque, owner of Ananya. The 21-member committee was elected without contest at the elections held at the organization’s office. The two will succeed Mazharul Islam (of Anyaprakash) and Kamrul Islam Shayokh (of Panjeri) respectively.

Bangladesh Gyan O Srijonshil Prokashok Samity is the largest organization of publishers in the country. The new committee will serve for a two year term, until 2020.