Dates announced for Ban-Afg series

Sports Reporter

The Afghanistan Cricket Board [ACB] announced the schedule for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Bangladesh yesterday with the first T20I to take place on June 3. The second and third game of the series are scheduled on June 5 and 7 respectively. All the matches of the series will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehdarun and the games will take place under lights starting from 8.30 pm Bangladesh time.

“ACB is delighted to host Bangladesh for the T20I series in Dehradun in early June which will be a good opportunity for both sides to play competitive cricket. Similarly, cricket fans have also previously enjoyed games between the two sides and this will be yet another opportunity for them to witness their sides play against each other,” Atif Mashal the chairman of the ACB said in ACB’s official website.

Earlier, Bangladesh Cricket Board [BCB] cricket operations committee chairman and former national captain Akram Khan informed that the board is satisfied with the venue and other facilities in the Indian city of Dehradun for the upcoming series against Afghanistan yesterday.

“According to the report the venue, hotel and other facilities are good but it takes around 40-45 minutes to reach the venue from the hotel,”Akram said at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur yesterday.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh have faced each other once in a T20I in the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 which the Tigers won by nine wickets. Afghanistan is currently ranked 8th while Bangladesh are ranked 10th in the ICC T20I team rankings.