Salma Chowdhury takes oath as MP

Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Thursday administered oath to the newly elected member of parliament (reserved seat) Salma Chowdhury at the Sangsad Bhaban.

JS Senior Secretary Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath-taking ceremony, while Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury and Whips Iqbalur Rahim and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapon were present, said an official press release, BSS reports.

After the death of Rushema Imam on July 9 last, the 334 reserved seat of Jatiya Sangsad fell vacant.

Salma was nominated by ruling Awami League and elected in by-election.