Women grouped with USA, PNG, Scotland in WT20I Qualifiers

Bangladesh women have been grouped in Pool A with the United States, host Scotland and Papua New Guinea in the Qualifiers for the World T20I, scheduled to be held from August 31 to September 7.

Thailand, Namibia, the Netherlands and last WT20I qualifiers’ finalist Ireland make up Group B.

The top two teams from each group will contest the semi-finals on September 5 and 6.

The final will be held on September 7.

Only the two finalists will progress to the 2020 WT20I, slated for Australia from February 21 to March 8.

Host Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies have qualified automatically.

Bangladesh will take on Papua New Guinea in their opening match on August 31, before locking horns with the USA and Scotland on September 1 and 3 respectively.

Prior to that, the women in red and green will undergo a 10-day training camp in Ireland, starting from August 15.

The Bangladesh women will then travel to Scotland on August 25.

Bangladesh will face off against the Dutch in a practice match on August 29.